Clear Browser Cache

In Chrome

  1. On your computer, open Chrome or Press the keys [Ctrl][Shift] and [Del]. Be sure you press all the keys at once.
  2. At the top right, click More More.
  3. Click More tools and then Clear browsing data.
  4. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.
  5. Next to "Cookies and other site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes.
  6. Click Clear data.

Learn how to change more cookie settings in Chrome. For example, you can delete cookies for a specific site.

What happens after you clear this info

After you clear cache and cookies:

  • Some settings on sites get deleted. For example, if you were signed in, you’ll need to sign in again.
  • If you turn sync on in Chrome, you’ll stay signed into the Google Account you’re syncing to in order to delete your data across all your devices.
  • Some sites can seem slower because content, like images, needs to load again.

How cache & cookies work

  • Cookies are files created by sites you visit. They make your online experience easier by saving browsing data.
  • The cache remembers parts of pages, like images, to help them open faster during your next visit.

In the Chrome app

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Chrome app Chrome.
  2. At the top right, tap More More.
  3. Tap History and then Clear browsing data.
  4. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.
  5. Next to "Cookies and site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes.
  6. Tap Clear data.

Learn how to change more cookie settings in Chrome.

What happens after you clear this info

After you clear cache and cookies:

  • Some settings on sites get deleted. For example, if you were signed in, you’ll need to sign in again.
  • Some sites can seem slower because content, like images, needs to load again.
  • If you're signed into Chrome, you'll stay signed in on Google's websites, like google.com and youtube.com.

How cache & cookies work

  • Cookies are files created by sites you visit. They make your online experience easier by saving browsing data.
  • The cache remembers parts of pages, like images, to help them open faster during your next visit.

Before clearing cache & cookies

When you clear your cache and cookies, your browser might sign you out of your Google Account. To make sure you can sign back in, update your recovery phone number and email address.

In the Chrome app

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Chrome app Chrome.
  2. At the bottom, tap More More.
  3. Tap History and then Clear browsing data.
  4. Make sure there’s a check mark next to "Cookies, Site Data," and "Cached Images and Files."
  5. Tap Clear browsing data.

Learn how to change more cookie settings in Chrome.

What happens after you clear this info

After you clear cache and cookies:

  • Some settings on sites get deleted. For example, if you were signed in, you’ll need to sign in again.
  • Some sites can seem slower because content, like images, needs to load again.

How cache & cookies work

  • Cookies are files created by sites you visit. They make your online experience easier by saving browsing data.
  • The cache remembers parts of pages, like images, to help them open faster during your next visit.

Firefox

Clear the cache

  1. Click the menu button Fx57Menu and select Options.
  2. Select the Privacy & Security panel.
  3. In the Cookies and Site Data section, click Clear Data….
    Fx60Cookies&SiteData-ClearCache
  4. Remove the check mark in front of Cookies and Site Data.
  5. With Cached Web Content check marked, click the Clear button.
  6. Close the about:preferences page. Any changes you've made will automatically be saved.
Tip: Here's another way to clear the Firefox cache:
Click the Library button 57 library icon , click History and click Clear Recent History…. Next to Time range to clear, choose Everything from the drop-down menu, select Cache in the items list, make sure other items you want to keep are not selected and then click the Clear Now button. See this article for details.

Automatically clear the cache

You can set Firefox to automatically clear the cache when Firefox closes:

  1. Click the menu button Fx57Menu and select Options.
  2. Select the Privacy & Security panel and go to the History section.

  3. In the drop-down menu next to Firefox will, choose Use custom settings for history.
    Fx63CustomHistory
  4. Select the check box for Clear history when Firefox closes.
    Fx60Custom-ClearHistoryWhenFirefoxCloses
  5. Beside Clear history when Firefox closes, click the Settings… button. The Settings for Clearing History window will open.
  6. In the Settings for Clearing History window, put a check mark next to Cache.
    SettingsForClearingHistoryFX42bd
  7. Click OK to close the Settings for Clearing History window.
  8. Close the about:preferences page. Any changes you've made will automatically be saved.
Tip: There are several add-ons available that will allow you to clear the cache using an icon on your toolbar. Go to the Mozilla Add-ons Web Page to do a search. The Mozilla community is not responsible for maintaining and supporting third-party add-ons. Please contact the add-on developer directly if you need assistance with an add-on.

Edge

Clear browsing data stored on your computer


To clear browsing data on your computer, make sure sync is turned off. Items that are synced will be cleared across all synced devices.

Here's how to clear your browsing data in Microsoft Edge:

  1. Select Settings and more  > Settings  > Privacy and services .
  2. Under Clear browsing data, select Choose what to clear.
  3. Choose a time range from the Time range drop-down menu.
  4. Choose the types of data you want to clear (see the table below for descriptions). For example, you may want to remove browsing history and cookies but keep passwords and form fill data.
  5. Select Clear now.

Clear browsing data stored in the cloud (if you’ve turned on sync or personalization)


To manage and delete data saved in the Microsoft cloud, see the privacy dashboard. On the privacy dashboard you can view or delete your data. Data that you delete on the privacy dashboard won’t be deleted from your device.

To learn more about how to stop sharing your data with Microsoft, see Microsoft Edge browsing data and privacy.

With your permission, the 

new Microsoft Edge 

  can remember information for you, making it easier to return to a favorite site or fill in forms. Microsoft Edge stores your browsing data, such as your passwords, info you've entered in forms, sites you've visited, and other information. Other browsing modes such as InPrivate browsing and Guest mode function differently and store less data than normal browsing.

Your browsing data is stored on your device. If you've turned on sync, those data types can also be stored in the Microsoft cloud to be synced across your signed in versions of Microsoft Edge.

You can see and clear your browsing history by selecting Settings and more  > History  > Manage history. You may choose to clear your browsing history at any time.

Internet Explorer 11

Opera

Safari